Assessment Info

Methods of Assessment include:

  • Minnesota Comprenhensive Assessments

  • In-class Unit and Skills Assessments

  • Common Assessments

  • College Admissions Tests

Minnesota Comprehensive Assessments (MCA):

The MCA and MTAS (alternate assessment) tests in reading, math and science help schools and districts measure student progress toward the state's academic standards. The MCA reading tests are administered in grades 3-8, 10. Math is administered in grades 3-8 and 11. Science is administered in grades 5 and 8, and once during high school (grade 10) Test results are reported to the public, parents and students, and are used to monitor trends in student achievement. They are also used as part of the Multiple Measures Rating (MMR) for schools under Minnesota's waiver to the federal No Child Left Behind (NCLB) act.

Parents/guardians have a right to not have their students participate in state-required standardized assessments. They may review and complete the opt-out form listed on Minnesota's Department of Education website.

District MCA results can be found here.

District testing schedule can be found here.

Minnesota Test of Academic Skills (MTAS):

The MTAS is an individually administered alternate assessment used with significantly cognitively disabled students in place of the MCA.


This assessment of academic English language skills is given to all Limited English Proficiency students. It includes reading, writing, speaking and listening skills. Minnesota is part of a multi-state consortium (WIDA) that uses this assessment to fulfill federal Title III testing requirements.